The Arkansas Arts Council, a division of Arkansas Heritage, is pleased to announce the 36 Arkansas artists whose work will be included the 2020 Small Works on Paper touring exhibition.

Thirty-nine artworks will be on display in nine galleries statewide during the yearlong tour. The exhibition will open Thursday, Jan. 9, at the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center at 501 W. Ninth St. in Little Rock. The opening reception will be from 5:30 p.m. to 7 p.m. the same day and will feature talks by participating artists. The exhibition and opening reception are free. The exhibition will run through Jan. 25.

The following artists were selected to participate in the exhibit:

  1. Oluwatobi K. Adewumi, of McNeil
  2. John Ahlen, of Little Rock
  3. Martin Balsam, of Little Rock
  4. Ebony Blevins, of Little Rock
  5. Win Bruhl, of Little Rock
  6. Brian Cormack, of Little Rock
  7. Anais Dasse, of Little Rock
  8. Terra Fondriest, of St. Joe
  9. B. Jeannie Fry, of Cabot
  10. Catherine Goenner, of Bella Vista
  11. Diane Harper, of Little Rock
  12. Diana Michelle Hausam, of West Fork
  13. Karlyn S. Holloway, of Austin
  14. Jeff Horton, of Little Rock
  15. Cary Jenkins, of Little Rock
  16. Hannah Jeremiah, of Van Buren
  17. Kimiara L. Johnson, of Pine Bluff
  18. Kathleen Keefe, of Little Rock
  19. John P. Lasater, IV, of Siloam Springs
  20. Sigrid Lorfing, of Russellville
  21. Lisa Martin, of Clarksville
  22. Ray Ogar, of Little Rock
  23. Karen Perry, of Hot Springs
  24. Michael Preble, of Hot Springs
  25. Lynn Reinbolt, of Searcy
  26. Charlotte Bailey Rierson, of Fairfield Bay
  27. Jane Rockwell, North Little Rock
  28. Sabine Schmidt, of Fayetteville
  29. Dominique Simmons, of Little Rock
  30. Gary Simmons, of Hot Springs
  31. Thomas Quinton Stanford, of Siloam Springs
  32. Joe Stewart, of Bentonville
  33. Brian Wolf, of North Little Rock
  34. Terry Wright, of Little Rock
  35. Anna Zusman, of Magnolia

Small Works on Paper is a juried visual art exhibition that showcases artwork no larger than 18-by-24 inches. The work is by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online gallery. The exhibition features new and established artists and offers those artists the opportunity to have their work seen by patrons all over the state.

This year’s entries were juried by Jamie Adams, associate professor of art at the Sam Fox School of Design and Visual Arts at Washington University in St. Louis. Adams reviewed nearly 300 submitted artworks to pick the 39 works in the exhibit. He also selected the following works to receive purchase awards, which are cash prizes equivalent to the value of the artwork. Purchase award pieces become part of the Small Works on Paper permanent collection.

  • “Proud Tower,” acrylic and collage, by John Ahlen, of Little Rock
  • “Self-Portrait,” charcoal, by Martin Balsam, of Little Rock
  • “Ozark Gaming,” photograph, by Terra Fondriest, of St. Joe
  • “Post,” photograph, by Cary Jenkins, of Little Rock
  • “Reflections of Winter Series 1, Winter’s Kiss,” watercolor by Charlotte Bailey Rierson, of Fairfield Bay
  • “Jonathan,” by Jane Rockwell, of North Little Rock
  • “Palm Hours,” acrylic on paper, by Brian Wolf, of North Little Rock

For more information about Small Works on Paper, contact Cheri Leffew at 501-324-9767 or cheri.leffew@arkansas.gov. Information is also available at arkansasarts.org.