The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announced the addition of 10 new National Register of Historic Places sites. The register, administered by the National Park Service, is the country’s official list of historically significant sites worthy of preservation. Eligible listings include historic districts, sites, buildings, structures and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering and culture.
“We are pleased to bring another collection of quality properties to the National Register of Historic Places,” said Stacy Hurst, who serves as the state historic preservation officer as well as the cabinet secretary for Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “Arkansas’s transportation history is compelling, so I’m especially pleased with the listings of the Point Remove Creek Bridge and the Magnolia Service Station. I encourage everyone to take a road trip and explore our amazing state. A great place to start is by searching the National Register listings on our website for locations near you.”

Properties added to the National Register of Historic Places include:

Community Mausoleum, Elmwood Cemetery
1148 W. Church St.
Conway County, Morrilton

Elmwood Cemetery Historic Section
W. of AR 113 and W. Church St. intersection
Conway County, Morrilton

Point Remove Creek Bridge
Old Arkansas Highway 113 over Point Remove Creek
Conway County, Morrilton

Army & Navy Memorial Lodge
570 Jobs Corps Rd.
Garland County, Royal

Bransford, J. M., House
506 S. Center St.
Lonoke County, Lonoke

Faubus, Orval E., House
640 Governors Rd.
Madison County, Huntsville

Grey, William H., Gravesite
108 Wire St.
Phillips County, Helena-West Helena

Magnolia Service Station
3023 W. 7th St.
Pulaski County, Little Rock

Waldron School Historic District
403 and 429 W. 5th St.
Scott County, Waldron

Tweedy-Puntch House
1411 W. Emma Ave.
Washington County, Springdale

“The Faubus House in Huntsville was a particularly enjoyable listing to share as it was designed by E. Fay Jones, a protégée of Frank Lloyd Wright,” explains Director of the AHPP Scott Kaufman. “Jones is highly regarded as the preeminent architect in Arkansas, designing the famed Thorncrown Chapel in Eureka Springs as well as many other buildings including homes, businesses, pavilions and more. His name lives on at the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design at the University of Arkansas.”

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), the division of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism.

National Register listings can be found by county here: https://www.arkansaspreservation.com/Historic-Properties/National-Register/search-national-register-listings